Modular Earth Submodel System (MESSy)

The MESSy People

Invention & Design (2001-2005)*:

Dr. Patrick Jöckel, Dr. Rolf Sander

Project Coordination:

Prof. Dr. Jos Lelieveld, Dr. Patrick Jöckel, Dr. Rolf Sander, Dr. Mark Lawrence (since 2005)

* Heinz Billing Award for the Advancement of Scientific Computation (2005)


Andreas Baumgärtner MPI-C abaumg@ since 2007
Sabine Brinkop Uni-M brinkop@ since 2003
Christoph Brühl MPI-C chb@ since 2001
Joachim Buchholz MPI-C buchholz@ 2003-2005
Susannah Burrows MPI-C sburrows@ since 2006
Tim Butler MPI-C tmb@ since 2006
Martin Dameris DLR Martin.Dameris@ since 2003
Gabriele Erhardt DLR Gabriele.Erhardt@ since 2003
Laurens Ganzeveld MPI-C ganzevl@ 2001-2006
WUR laurens.ganzeveld@ since 2007
Bernhard Giner MPI-C giner@ since 2006
Marco Giorgetta MPI-M giorgetta@ since 2004
Volker Grewe DLR Volker.Grewe@ since 2001
Sergey Gromov MPI-C gromov@ since 2006
Patrick Jöckel MPI-C joeckel@ since 2001
Astrid Kerkweg MPI-C akerkweg@ since 2002
Ole Kirner FZK ole.kirner@ since 2004
Anne Kubin FUB anne.kubin@ since 2006
Markus Kunze FUB markus.kunze@ since 2006
Christian Kurz DLR Christian.Kurz@ since 2002
Mark Lawrence MPI-C lawrence@ since 2005
Ulrike Langematz FUB ulrike.langematz@ since 2006
Axel Lauer DLR axel.lauer@ since 2005
Jos Lelieveld MPI-C lelievld@ since 2001
Swen Metzger MPI-C metzger@ since 2001
Katrin Nissen FUB katrin.nissen@ since 2006
Michael Ponater DLR Michael.Ponater@ since 2005
Andrea Pozzer MPI-C pozzer@ since 2004
Andreas Rhodin DWD Andreas.Rhodin@ 2001-2002
Hella Riede MPI-C riede@ since 2006
Roland Ruhnke FZK roland.ruhnke@ since 2004
Rolf Sander MPI-C sander@ since 2001
Robert Sausen DLR Robert.Sausen@ since 2003
Benedikt Steil MPI-C steil@ since 2001
Jörg Steinkamp MPI-C steinkam@ since 2006
Philip Stier MPI-M stier@ 2003-2004
Meryem Tanarhte MPI-C meryemta@ since 2005
Domenico Taraborrelli MPI-C tara@ since 2005
Holger Tost MPI-C tost@ since 2003
Kleareti Tourpali AUTH tourpali@ since 2004
Michael Traub MPI-C mtraub@ 2003-2005
Maarten van Aalst MPI-C aalst@ 2003-2005
John van Aardenne MPI-C aardenne@ 2001-2005

DWDGerman Weather Service, Offenbach, Germany
DLRGerman Aerospace Center, Institute for Physics of the Atmosphere, Oberpfaffenhofen, Germany
MPI-CMax Planck Institute for Chemistry, Mainz, Germany
MPI-MMax Planck Institute for Meteorology, Hamburg, Germany
Uni-MInstitute for Meteorology, University of Munich, Germany @meteo.physik.uni-muenchen
FUBInstitute for Meteorology, Free University of Berlin, Germany
FZKForschungszentrum Karlsruhe
AUTHAristotle University of Thessaloniki
WURWageningen University and Research Centre

This page was last modified on 11 Jan 2007.
If you have comments or suggestions, e-mail me at  !